7 comments on “Rabyd Opinion – A Healthy Dose of Christian Skepticism

  1. When the subject comes up and someone asks if I believe in “a big man in the sky” I say, Yes. I believe in God. I believe in Jesus. I believe God loves and forgives us. I know I have done a lot of really off the wall things in my life, but I feel God forgave me and forgives me as I live. What I have a problem with is hypocrites in the churches. They judge me on how I dress or even my body (even when I dress very conservative–very!) Ed, do I have to go to a church every Sunday to be a Christian?

    • The verse that most people relate to church attendance is Hebrews 10:25 which exhorts the church not to forsake the assembling of ourselves together. The issue is to build each other up and strengthen each others faith.

      I want you to know you would probably not receive this most churches today as most people attend the church so they can say they did like a badge of honor. The focus in today’s church is self centered not other centered. That is why you are judged my dear for how you look so those that judge can feel better about themselves.

      I have seen your pictures my dear (yep, your the first friend I have had that I know pretty early what you looked like without clothes on) so I can tell you this that this judgment also has a jealousy element to it. You could dress exactly like the most modest old lady in the church and they would challenge your modesty because you would still be more curvy, sexy and prettier than them. You could not hide that no matter how you tried and so you are going to lose that fight no matter what, not because you are immodest (modesty is really a spiritual quality and has nothing to do with dress) but because they are jealous and catty. Just because women come to church doesn’t mean the pecking order thing women have disappears, it just takes a different form.

      You may have to look long and hard to find a loving church these days. But that does not mean you cannot find Christian fellowship that builds your faith and strengthens you. The internet has a lot of such places and I wouldn’t give up looking.

      That said, your not going to hell if you don’t go to church. You should want to go to church to get the most out of it. I tell my people all the time that they are not required to attend, but that I would hope that they would want to come to be in a family that loves them and have opportunity to worship God.

      Blessings

  2. I will keep trying! And, I wish I were close to where you preach and teach–I would be there every Sunday! You’re truly the sweetest, kindest heart–your wife is very lucky!!! 🙂 Love & Blessings to you xo

    • Thank you. I am glad I don’t have a mirror around I might be blushing. I am also very lucky to have my wife. It is not every gal that will put up with a eccentric skeptical theologian philosopher type. We are hard people to live with.

  3. I have just befriended Amie and am glad I did, just as I’m glad I found Ed’s blog. There is no perfect church Amie. If there was, the minute I attended or joined, it wouldn’t be perfect anymore. Used to pastor at a small rural church, conservative, but with loving people. Now retired, I attend there for one service, and go to a contemporary church service, which doesn’t judge people, and it is a “come as you are dressed” kind of assembly. It is an assembly of messed up people who love God and want to get closer to Him. That is the kind of church I wish you could find, which I’m sure Ed would agree would be good for you. And as far as your blog, I am enjoying it also, myself.
    Grace and peace.

    • I should caution you that in the case of Amie ;come as you are dressed’ might still cause quite a stir. But you are right there are good congregations out there, they are just few and far between. these days it seems and with the decline of churches in the USA becoming even more hard to find.

      Blessings and Cheers!

  4. Rev. Harvey is so sweet!!! I could cause a stir…but I think I could do that in a burka — one of my Muslim friends said I would not last a day in Pakistan, they would be trying to screw me and then sentence me to death for enticing them! lol (How can I laugh at that? Oh, well, “juggling chainsaws”, like you said!) I think I should be able to stand naked before you, Reverend Harvey and not be judged–and from what I know about you, Ed, and what I can get from the Reverend, it sounds like both of you would be cool with it–just see me as I am (like you haven’t already in my blog!!! 🙂 I would like to find a group of people to worship with–to keep me on the straight path–and to remind me that there are people who love nonjudgmentally in the world–like you and Rev. Harvey!!! 🙂 Love you both… 🙂

Leave a comment