7 comments on “Rabyd Philosophy – The Book of Rabyd 1:6 – People Do Not Have The Right to Take Away The Rights of Others

  1. I am pro-life, because God is ultimately the Author and Giver of all life. Human reproduction provides the physical body, but God gives the immortal spirit. John the Baptist was filled with the Holy Spirit while he was still in his mother’s womb, what pro-choice advocates would call a “fetus” or a “conceptus”. Aborting and destroying an unborn child is destroying God’s handiwork.

    Steve

    • I have no doubt that you have expressed the opinion of most conservative Christians in the United States. However, the problem is that not all people are either Christians or even sharing in that theology. Then we fall to the Declaration and Constitution and the problem with those two documents is that they never define when life begins, so that question is left open. Politically I think this is the argument that it should fall to amendment 10 because the constitution does not address the issue. It should be a states issue constitutionally. Unfortunately, power has been used t make it federal instead of states authority.

      The question then does the Bible advocate forcing people to believe as we do or force then to act against their conscience? I have one more principle to go in the Book of Rabyd that will hopefully resolve this problem. Maybe.

      Blessings and Cheers!!!

  2. The question of “abortion-rights” is goes far deeper than whether we accept or reject being God’s image-bearers as the basis for our valuation of human life. Our ultimate answer will affect life at all stages of life. Is human life valuable:
    1) At conception, because it is a human baby that was conceived?
    2) At birth, because the baby is now included in the census totals?
    3) When the child is toilet trained, can feed, dress and bathe itself, because it is no longer dependent on its mother for everything?
    4) When the person becomes an adult, and is trained or educated, and able to enter the workforce?
    5) When the person reaches a predetermined-level of economic-productivity?

    * How about at the other end of the age-spectrum? Is life still valuable:
    1) When the person reaches retirement and is no longer “productive”?
    2) When the person becomes aged or infirmed, is no longer “productive”, and the cost of their “upkeep” exceeds any potential or possible economic contribution?

    * If we allow unborn human babies to killed and destroyed, is it also okay to:
    1) Kill the mentally-deficient or physically-handicapped?
    2) Kill a person who becomes disabled due to illness or injury?
    3) Kill a person who, due to illness or injury, can not work a certain number of hours a year?
    4) Kill a person when they retire, because they are no longer economically-productive?
    5) Kill a person when they are no longer capable of independent-living?
    6) Set an arbitrary age at which everyone who gets that old will be automatically killed?
    7) Allow a person to die who becomes critically-ill or injured by withholding lifesaving treatment?

    * Whether we are pro-life or pro-choice, we were all born to pro-life mothers. How we value human life tells a lot about how selfish and self-centered we are. Where do we draw the line? Who, or what entity, are we going to allow to draw that line? There are already forces at work in this world that only value life based on economics, and because I am both disabled and retired, my life has no value to them. Given the chance, they would consign me to the rubbish-heap, because I am no longer an “economic-asset”.

    • Well spoken. Couldn’t have done better myself taking the side of pro-life. I hope someone takes up the side of pro-choice so I can compare the arguments. You however are hitting the quandary of the problem. I may hold this position but I do not live in a world of people that all think like me. As you say the value of a human being is part of the issue but also when a human being becomes a human being. Those two things however are never viewed the same by all of society. I think the last principle helps (you will see when written) but I don’t know if it clears up everything.

      Thanks for the great comment. Blessings and Cheers!!!

  3. I don’t know where you stand on predestination, but this is a clip from one of my upcoming posts:

    Our beginning…
    Was our beginning merely a “chance” event, or was it “pre-planned”? Those who believe that God doesn’t have an active role in our lives would call it a “chance” event. They would say that one “lucky” sperm outran all the other 200 million-plus sperm through the gauntlet and got to the egg first and still had the stamina to penetrate and fertilize the egg. If that is the case, we are all products of “chance”.

    If our beginning was a “pre-planned” event, God ushered one chosen sperm to its intended rendezvous and who and what we are is no “accident”. This passage should shed some light on our beginning…

    Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places in Christ, just as He chose us in Him before the foundation of the world, that we would be holy and blameless before Him. In love He predestined us to adoption as sons through Jesus Christ to Himself, according to the kind intention of His will, to the praise of the glory of His grace, which He freely bestowed on us in the Beloved. (Ephesians 1:3-6)

    I would have to conclude that we are not here by “chance”, and that you are reading this at this moment by divine-appointment also. Oh, and it is no “accident” that I am writing this…

    *****************************************************************************************************************
    Some people would say that my son was an “accident” because my wife “happened” to be fertile that Sunday afternoon when I “forgot” to use a condom when we had sex. Even though we hadn’t “planned” to have another child at that time, God gave us our only boy nine months later.

    Blessings!

    Steve

  4. I would say that God creates the conditions in which life is possible. However, as an open theist I no longer believe that my existence is fated or only God was the one making decisions to cause my existence. My parents had some say in that too. We do indeed genuinely forget to use birth control.

    I think the idea of chance verse fate is a false dichotomy that theology uses and some things like our existence are a combination of factors and this idea of chance verse preordination is oversimplifying things far too much. I believe each person’s existence is the product of the genuine choices of three people in most cases – the father, the mother and God. Once we are there God lovingly fashions us and molds us through processes he established at creation but even that is still affected by the choices of our mother and father in how they take care of us and themselves.

    The problem with a pre-ordination view of existence is that it leads to pride in my opinion. I think to myself that I am so special that God made me and in truth I am not special at all. The other problem is then we have God preordaining the creation of infants who have birth defects and other problem of evil questions begin to surface that become legion. Being a zero point Calvinist myself I don’t buy that my existence or my salvation is fated by God. Freewill of my parents had a lot to do with it as well and yes that includes the possibility they forgot to use birth control or my mother just happened to be fertile at the time. Existence is a God AND Man thing not just one or the other. Human decisions and failings are not chance.

    Blessings and Cheers!!!

  5. I suspect that the truth is somewhere in the middle, neither “one lucky sperm” nor “ushered one chosen sperm to its intended rendezvous”. Certainly our parents, and we as parents, played a vital role in our’s and our children’s conception. Whether I “forgot” or God prompted me to “forget” to use a condom that time is really immaterial, because even though we hadn’t “planned” to have our third child that soon, we were blessed with a beautiful baby boy.

    Blessings!

    Steve

Leave a Reply

